Skip to content

As For Me and My House: A Home of Music

April 26, 2010

Music has always played a significant role in my life. My dad was the song leader at several of my first churches and always sang in the shower and made up little diddies around the house. They encouraged me to explore music from a young age–I was in choir at the age of 6–and accompanied me to concerts and recitals throughout grade school. My love for music is largely due to my parents’ encouragement.

Dad said that he always wanted a son who loved music. Likewise, Katie (quite the musician herself) and I dream of our own home of music.

I’m in month four of teaching myself guitar, and whenever I get a full-time job, we’ll pursue getting a piano. I hope to become proficient in both instruments by the age of 30 for professional reasons (I’d like to pursue a PhD in music therapy) and familial reasons. I envision our children taking naps or playing and exploring while I sing and play over them. We hope our children will be attracted to corporate worship for some of the same reasons we are: communal song and praise. Katie and I visited one of her housemates in Cardiff in 2008 and spent about two hours with her family playing piano, bongo, and singing; we dream of having similar musical nights with our family.

I don’t necessarily believe that introducing our children will make them smarter or more mature; there’s conflicting research regarding the correlation between early musical exposure and accelerated intelligence in children. On the one hand, according to Daniel Levitin, author of This is Your Brain on Music, musical training increases efficiency and functionality in both the left and right hemispheres of the brain (shown neurologically through larger frontal sections of the corpus callosum) and are able to process information better due to stronger axons and dendrites in their cerebellums. On the other hand, some researchers hypothesize a connection to extended exposure of audio/visual-centered media (such as Baby Einstein) and ADHD. Even if there was a connection between early exposure to music in infants and children and intelligence, I would deem that a poor reason to have a musical home.

Katie and I dream of a musical home because that’s who we are. Musical involvement has taught us about dedication and hard work; we obtained our level of musicianship through hours of practicing and studying. Music allows us to express ourselves emotionally through performing and listening. Music invites us to create, either by adding a variation to a theme or by constructing something completely new and undiscovered. We dream of giving our children the ability to experience a gamut of emotions, imagine and process their evolving reality, and create community (both with us and with like-minded friends) by providing a house of music.

One Comment leave one →
  1. zane permalink
    April 26, 2010 6:07 pm

    I just read your blog, and it brought back a lot of good memories. I know that you and Katie house will be blessed someday with children of musical talents and there will be alot of laughter, love, and music for yoursleves and the Lord. Thinking about you and love you.

    Dad

Leave a Reply

