Skip to content

The Happiness Project: Part 5

February 15, 2010

So I’m reading through Gretchen Rubin’s bestseller “The Happiness Project” month by month and incorporating some of her ideas into my life to hopefully increase personal happiness. This month, Gretchen talks about love and boosting happiness through the most significant relationships in your life. I want to take the next week to write about things I’ve learned about love over the last year and a half in my marriage to my best friend, Katie.

I realize that this post is a bit belated, since Valentine’s Day was yesterday, but our holiday weekend was eventful; we had two date nights, and Katie led me on a scavenger hunt of sorts throughout our house, with several different Valentines messages:

In the last year and a half, I’ve learned that love is in the little things.

Love is in little notes and cards that we leave each other, either on paper or on the bathroom mirror after we’ve taken our showers.

Love is in the efforts that we make to keep our house presentable, such as doing laundry, making the bed, and doing dishes.

Love is in winks, foot flirts, hand holds, and welcoming gazes that subtly announce our commitment to each other.

Love is in listening, smiling, and dreaming with/at the love of my life.

What are some small ways that you communicate love with the love of your life?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

