Skip to content

Super Bowl Sunday

February 7, 2010

My sports obsession is largely the fault of my dad. He took me to my first Rangers game when I was four, my first college football game (Texas-OU no less) when I was five or six, and many high school football games. There was at least one year that I stayed home from school and watched the opening rounds of March Madness with him, possibly more.

My mom’s got a bit of a flare for sports as well.

She’s from south Louisiana and grew up cheering for the Saints. The Saturday that Katie and I went home for Christmas this year was the Saints-Cowboys game, and Mom would rub it in to Dad when the Saints scored–I think Katie was a bit shocked. When I was growing up, whenever the Saints were playing or were mentioned during the Cowboys game Dad and I were watching, she’d yell “Who dat, who dat, who day say dey gonna beat dem Saints?”

Dad would yell, “Everybody, everybody…”

Well, not anymore, I guess.

Great to see two likable teams in the Super Bowl this year, but my heart goes out to the Saints, the city of New Orleans, and my mom (and other Saints fans who have waited what seems like an eternity for this moment).

One Comment leave one →
  1. Judy permalink
    February 8, 2010 4:18 pm

    Who Dat !!!!!

Leave a Reply

