Skip to content

Twitter

January 29, 2010

Robert, the best man in our wedding, explained that Katie and I operate under the steadfast refusal to do what anyone expects of us.

Not entirely true, but close.

There are some trendy things I avoid just because they’re trendy. Popular contemporary television sitcoms and reality shows. CGI. Top-40 music from artists other than U2. Most Christian fiction that makes the New York Times best seller list. Rooting for a top-four team in the English Premier League. (Americans have a reputation for devoting fanship to Manchester United, Arsenal, Chelsea, or Liverpool. Coincidentally, they’re the top four teams in English football.)  Pop psychology. (Although quite a bit pop psychology is also based on faulty philosophy and incomplete representations of research.) Don’t get me wrong–there are great qualities about each of these things I’ve listed. But the artists, social forums, and well, people that I get the most joy and energy from carry a certain level of independence and edginess that gets lost with popularity.

I come around on some of these things…eventually. I’ve read all of the Harry Potter books, but didn’t start reading them until after the sixth book came out. I got a cell phone my sophomore year in college, when most of my friends already had one. Katie and I are going through all of the seasons of Friends four or five years after it finished. (Although I was a Friends fan in high school.) I joined facebook two or three years after it became the most popular social networking device in the world.

(I’m sure there’s a psychological piece to this, such as “I want to remain different for as long as possible, but there’s a part of me that wants to be like everybody else and conform to society’s expectations, so eventually I give in.”)

So let it be known, that tonight, January 29 2010, I caved in and joined twitter.

I admit, part of me wanted to see what the craze was all about. Katie’s twittering now (although we talked about how few shared followers we’ll probably have because of our different interests). I also love writing funny comments on the profile update portion of facebook.

I’ve actually been thinking about this for some time. When Mir-Hossein Moussavi directed his peaceful protest against the election process that named Mahmoud Ahmadinejad as president of Iran this summer, Twitter became one of Moussavi’s main networking tools to provide updates and allow followers to pictorially describe the injustices in the streets of Tehran; I considered joining for that. The AAMFT (the regulation board for marriage and family therapists) uses Twitter to provide updates on the ramifications of Obama’s potential health care reform on MFTs; other professional organizations use twitter to provide links to contemporary research projects. Friends and acquaintances from various stages of my life use twitter to joke, explore, share, and dream about life.

So now that I’m hooked, who/what are some valuable, light-hearted, talented, and/or influential people (known and unknown) that you follow on Twitter? I want some new trends to engage with.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 30, 2010 1:28 am

    Welcome! I had a feeling you’d jump on the bandwagon eventually. You’ve already figured out that using Twitter gets people to come look at your blog. Hey, I didn’t know you had one, but here I am.

    As far as following people, find your friends with similar interests and check out who they follow. The Twitter Lists function is really handy here. For example, if you look at my “Baseball” list you’ll find a bunch of beat writers for the Rangers (among others).

    Hope that helps!

  2. February 3, 2010 12:31 am

    and… you can follow the Texas Beef Council on twitter, because….it’s what’s for dinner. Who doesn’t love dinner?

  3. February 3, 2010 3:20 pm

    Can you link to your Twitter handle. I’m clueless on how to find you. 🙂

  4. February 3, 2010 3:21 pm

    Nevermind. I just found you.

Trackbacks

  1. Twitter

Leave a Reply

